Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good morning, everyone! I hope y’all had a wonderful weekend, and that Tuesday is not being too rough on you! As we continue our week of social media blitz to keep the conversation going and keep us caught up in fond memories of our service, here’s the theme of the day: Who was the most influential person you met during your time of service, and how does her/his impact continue to influence you?

For me, I would have to say that the most influential person from my time in Alaska was a young boy named Miguel (name changed for this post). I only knew him for about 4 days, while I was a counselor at Rainbow Glacier Camp in Haines, but he had a profound impact on me. He was a special needs individual, and the only one at camp that summer.  In between the hours of needing two counselors to keep an eye on him and keep him out of trouble (tossing the songbook into the campfire comes to mind…), I was shown a powerful example of how much each and every person is a beloved child of God, regardless of how much they challenge me or strain my patience – a novel lesson for me at that age. His ability to find joy and amusement in everything, whether we wanted him to or not, has stuck with me. I will forever think and speak of Miguel with a smile, and often wonder where he is now.

So…who was the most influential person in your time of service? What lessons did he or she teach you? We want to know! Share with us here on the blog, on Twitter (#YAVrocks), or on FaceBook – but more importantly, share it with someone who may be considering a period of mission service, or a congregation/presbytery that wants to support mission!

